AOAC | Board Directors
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-738,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1300,footer_responsive_adv,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-13.0,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.1,vc_responsive

Board Directors

Our board is made up of these members:

Brett Vaughan, Chair

Brett graduated from the osteopathy program at Victoria University in 2002. He is currently a lecturer in clinical education in the Department of Medical Education at the University of Melbourne and is also in private practice in Doncaster East, Melbourne. He was previously a lecturer in the osteopathy program at Victoria University. His current professional associations include being a member of the Accreditation Committee of the Nursing & Midwifery Board of Australia and an Associate Fellow of the Australian and New Zealand Association of Health Professional Educators. His professional interests include clinical education, professional development, health professions education assessment and evaluation, and musculoskeletal rehabilitation. Brett is currently enrolled in a PhD exploring the quality of clinical teaching in osteopathy.

Dr Gopi McLeod, Deputy Board Chair

Gopi is a senior lecturer and clinical examiner in the osteopathy program at Southern Cross University and also works in clinical osteopathic practice at Kingscliff Beach Osteopathy. Her PhD investigated the impact of embedding a pedagogical intervention of reflective practice learning across the osteopathy course. Her current research areas include work-related musculoskeletal injuries and the integration of evidence based procedures into osteopathic practice. Gopi has received a number of awards for excellence in teaching including the Australian National Office of Learning & Teaching Award for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning.

Ian Locke, Finance, Auditing & Risk Committee Chair

Ian brings skills from an extensive career in commerce and corporate governance gained primarily in sectors of agriculture, food and beverage, allied health, sports, peak-industry bodies and senior management roles with major public and private organisations in Australia and overseas. This experience includes memberships of boards, expert panels and advisory groups in Australia where his knowledge and understanding of board effectiveness, strategy and risk, finance, and corporate governance makes valuable contributions to organisations.  Ian is a board-appointed director of Osteopathy Australia Ltd since 2014.  Ian holds several master’s Degrees in Business and Administration and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.  As a director, he maintains a specific focus on financial audit, corporate ethics, innovation, governance and succession planning.


Professor Wendy Cross, Accreditation Committee Chair

Professor Wendy Cross is the Dean, School of Nursing and Healthcare Professions at Federation University, Australia. She has built a successful career in nursing, nursing research and nurse education and has been awarded numerous research and teaching grants and has extensive experience in a range of nursing and management roles. Prof Cross has extensive experience in strategic and operational management and governance, practice development, clinical governance, policy and procedure development, performance management and appraisal, workforce planning and other activities. In 2007, she joined Monash University, School of Nursing and Midwifery with a focus on mental health nursing research and was appointed Professor and Head of the School of Nursing and Midwifery, a post she held from 2009 to 2016, when she was appointed to the position of Associate Dean, Nursing and Allied Health, in the Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences. She has a Bachelor of Applied Science in Advanced Nursing, a Master of Education by research (Ed Psych) and a Doctor of Philosophy (Transcultural Psychiatry). Wendy’s primary research interests include mental health and mental health nursing, clinical supervision, service evaluation and development, workplace learning and broad-based research methods including both quantitative and qualitative paradigms.

Tracy Denning, Qualifications & Skills Assessment Committee Chair

Tracy Denning joined the AOAC Board of Directors in September 2018. Tracy currently works as a Senior Lecturer in Anatomy at the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT) and has been involved in a broad range of health professional programs over the last ten years. She is a registered osteopath with seven years of private practice experience. Prior to commencing her appointment with RMIT, Tracy held a Lecturer appointment at Victoria University (VU) and from late 2013 led the development of the first integrated osteopathy program in Australia. The new program was developed in 2014-15 and implemented in 2016. Tracy is passionate about quality education in osteopathy and health professional education. She has experience in developing and implementing simulated based education (SBE) activities into osteopathy education and in other health disciplines. Her particular interest in SBE is Simulated Patients (SPs), where actors, students or volunteers are trained to portray the role of a patient presenting to the student with pre-determined condition/s that meet specified learning outcomes for the students.

Pip Leedham

Pip is an experienced health service executive who held policy development, purchasing and operational management roles.  She has  keen interest in health system reform particularly in the broader primary health arena and its interface with the acute and aged care sectors.  Prior to ceasing full time employment with the Department of Health and Human Services she was a deputy secretary and had more than 5 years as the Director Community Planning and Strategy and 10 years as the CEO Primary Health.  Pip is currently a member of the University of Tasmania Council and its finance sub committee, Menzies Institute of Medical Research Board, a Director of Tennis Tasmania and independent member of the Department of Health Audit Committee.  She is a former member of the Tasmanian Institute of Sport Board and National Council of the Australian Hospitals and Healthcare Association.

Subscribe to our Newsletter